• 01 - Time Is On My Side  3:04
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 02 - Lady Jane  3:20
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 03 - The Last Time  3:48
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 04 - Ruby Tuesday  3:33
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 05 - Jumpin´Jack Flash  3:22
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 06 - Angie  4:30
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 07 - Paint It Black  3:07
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 08 - As Tears Go By  3:02
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 09 - Satisfaction  3:47
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 10 - Out Of Time  3:50
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 11 - Let´s Spend The Night Together  3:52
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 12 - 19th Nervous Breakdown  4:00
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 13 - It´s All Over Now  3:03
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Add to cart Includes 19% tax

€49,90 – Add to cart Includes 19% tax

 

Dear music-lovers,

 

I am glad that you are listening to my production ‘The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra Plays ROLLING STONES Classic’. Would you have believed how much musical potential and how many beautiful melodies were hiding behind the pioneering Rockn Roll of the ‘Glimmer Twins’ Mick Jagger and Keith Richards? Through this recording I am going to offer proof that The ROLLING STONES also presented outstanding compositions in the classical sense.

 

Enjoy yourself.

 

Yours, 

Patric Perquee

 

 

Five long-haired fellows whose rough, impetuous behaviour beyond all social conventions is reflected in their revolutionary music – and one classical orchestra whose solid perfection preserves the traditions of tonal artistry that have grown up over centuries – how do they go together? The synthesis of these areas, which are only seemingly contradictory, works when the barriers between classical music and pop/rock music are broken down in the heads of all of those taking part – from the producers through the musicians and all the way to the listener. For many years the Hamburg music producer and composer Patric Perquee and the Munich Philharmonic have been treading this path successfully side by side towards new shores of musical understanding.

 

‘It’s not the ear that decides whether the recording has been a success. It’s the goose-pimples; the feeling that every note is penetrating deep under your skin and making it vibrate. That’s the point where music starts to have an erotic aura.’ Patric Perquee, born in 1954 and for many years a successful pop producer, allows only his feelings to be the ultimate yardstick when assessing his own work. It is difficult for outsiders to understand how the austere ambience of a studio with its entirely functional technology can permit emotions in those who work there. If emotions occur at all in this place, they do so through the deeply moving hits by the ‘Rolling Stones’, which have thrilled for generations and have made a lasting impression on subsequent generations of musicians, as well as through the awareness that an orchestra of international standing works here.

 

The Munich Philharmonic – yesterday evening the ladies and gentlemen wore evening dress and performed at the Gasteig under the baton of Celibidache before hundreds of formally dressed music-lovers in expectant mood. In the recording studio next day, the ‘priceless’ Stradivari violin is gripped between lumberjack shirt and unshaven chin. ‘A music recording should guarantee the perfect listening experience – and I can consider only the top musicians to achieve that’, says Patric Perquee. To Patric Perquee, a frontiersman between pop, rock and classic, expanding his musical horizon means welding together traditional listening habits and modern technology.

 

‘The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra Plays The ROLLING STONES Classic’ is Perquee’s personal homage to the ‘Rolling Stones’. Incidentally, the present production is the only one to have been personally authorised by Jagger and Richards.

 

A novel recording technique was needed to combine the sound of the orchestra with the dynamics of the song in an optimum way. First of all Patric Perquee prepared a kind of musical framework for each piece, which the orchestra used as a rhythmic basis and which was afterwards erased. It was then possible to write the orchestra scores on the basis of his ideas of the planned arrangements and in co-operation with the conductor Leon Ives. Perquee refuses to compress compositions and to bring them to a single dynamic line. ‘From the technical point of view, the recording is able to guarantee the perfect tonal experience. Therefore the three-dimensional aural impression that is conveyed by the orchestra during concerts in the Philharmonic at the Gasteig must also come over, when the music is played at home.’

 

Perfect mastery of the recording technique is exceptionally important. The producer must cope with the contradiction of preserving the soul of the orchestra, the typical sound of instruments played live, in spite of a ‘one hundred percent’ recording. Perquee: ‘People have now become so spoilt by digital quality that even a noise that occurs unavoidably when playing the cello can be annoying. That is the best proof that the sampling technique has led music up a blind alley.’ That is why Perquee searched for the original instruments and amplifiers from the historic recordings of the Stones hits, so as to preserve the tonal images of the guitar in ‘Satisfaction’ or ‘Jumping Jack Flash’ in the new recording. In this way he has succeeded in preserving the distinctive character of familiar song elements that is so important to the listener, and in combining it with the orchestral sound to create a harmonious whole.

 

‘The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra plays ABBA, The BEE GEES, ELVIS, The ROLLING STONES Classic’ – a trademark for outstanding sound artistry – created, directed & produced by Patric Perquee.

 

T.A.

Audio samples do not correspond to the original length and original quality !

® All rights reserved | © Copyright by Giacomo Records

• 01 - Time Is On My Side  3:04
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 02 - Lady Jane  3:20
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 03 - The Last Time  3:48
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 04 - Ruby Tuesday  3:33
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 05 - Jumpin´Jack Flash  3:22
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 06 - Angie  4:30
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 07 - Paint It Black  3:07
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 08 - As Tears Go By  3:02
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 09 - Satisfaction  3:47
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 10 - Out Of Time  3:50
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 11 - Let´s Spend The Night Together  3:52
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 12 - 19th Nervous Breakdown  4:00
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 13 - It´s All Over Now  3:03
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

In den Warenkorb enthält 19% Mwst

€49,90 – In den Warenkorb enthält 19% Mwst

 

Liebe Musikfreunde,

 

ich freue mich, dass Sie meine Produktion “The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra Plays ROLLING STONES Classic” hören. Hätten Sie geglaubt, wieviel musikalisches Potential und wunderschöne Melodien sich hinter dem bahnbrechenden Rock’n Roll der  “Glimmer Twins” Mick Jagger & Keith Richards verbergen? Mit dieser Musik-Produktion will ich den Beweis antreten, dass die Rolling Stones auch im klassischen Sinne herausragende Kompositionen vorgelegt haben.

 

Ihr, 

Patric Perquee

 

 

Fünf langhaarige Kerle, deren raues, ungestümes Benehmen jenseits aller gesellschaftlichen Konventionen sich in ihrer revolutionären Musik widerspiegelt – und ein klassisches Orchester, dessen gediegene Perfektion die über Jahrhunderte gewachsenen Traditionen der Klangkunst bewahrt – wie passt das zusammen? Die Synthese dieser nur scheinbar gegensätzlichen Bereiche funktioniert, wenn in den Köpfen aller Beteiligten – vom Produzenten über die Musiker bis hin zum Hörer – die Mauern zwischen sogenannter E- und U-Musik eingerissen werden. Der Hamburger Komponist und Produzent Patric Perquee und die Münchner Philharmoniker gehen seit vielen Jahren gemeinsam und erfolgreich auf diesem Weg zu neuen Ufern musikalischer Verständigung.

 

„Nicht das Ohr entscheidet, ob die Aufnahme gelungen ist. Es ist die Gänsehaut; dieses Gefühl, dass Dir jeder Ton ganz tief unter die Haut geht und dort Vibrationen auslöst. Das ist der Punkt, an dem Musik beginnt, erotische Ausstrahlung zu haben.“ Patric Perquee, Jahrgang 1954, seit vielen Jahren erfolgreicher Pop-Produzent, lässt nur sein Gefühl als höchsten Gradmesser für die Beurteilung seiner eigenen Arbeiten zu. Für Außenstehende ist es nur schwer nachvollziehbar, wie das nüchterne Ambiente eines Studios mit seiner ganz auf Funktionalität ausgerichteten Technik Emotionen bei denen, die dort arbeiten, zulassen kann. Wenn an diesem Ort überhaupt Gefühle entstehen, dann durch die aufwühlenden, über Generationen als mitreißend empfundenen Hits der „Rolling Stones“, die Generationen nachfolgender Musiker nachhaltig beeinflusst haben – aber auch das Bewusstsein, dass hier ein Orchester von Weltgeltung arbeitet.

 

Die Münchner Philharmoniker – am Vorabend trugen die Herrschaften Frack und spielten am Gasteig vor hunderten festlich gekleideten, erwartungsfroh gestimmten Musikfreunden unter Leitung von Celibidache. Tags drauf wird im Ton-Studio die kostbare Stradivari-Geige zwischen Holzfällerhemd und ein unrasiertes Kinn geklemmt.  „Die Musikaufnahme soll das perfekte Hörerlebnis garantieren, und dafür kommen für mich nur die besten Musiker in Frage“, sagt Patric Perquee. Die Erweiterung seines musikalischen Horizontes bedeutete für Patric Perquee, als Grenzgänger zwischen Pop, Rock und Klassik traditionelle Hörgewohnheiten und moderne Technik miteinander zu verschmelzen.

 

Erstes Ergebnis dieser neuen Denk- und Arbeitsweise war „The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra plays ABBA Classic“, welches 1991 das weltweite Revival des schwedischen Pop-Quartetts einleitete, „The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra Plays ROLLING STONES Classic“ ist Perquees persönliche Hommage an die „Rolling Stones“. Die vorliegende Produktion ist übrigens die einzige, die persönlich von Jagger und Richards autorisiert wurde.

 

Eine neue Aufnahmetechnik war nötig, um den Klang des Orchesters mit der Dynamik der Songs optimal zu verbinden. Patric Perquee erstellte zunächst für jedes Stück eine Art musikalisches Gerüst, welches dem Orchester als rhythmische Grundlage diente und später wieder gelöscht wurde. Nach seinen Vorstellungen der geplanten Arrangements konnten dann die Orchesterpartituren geschrieben werden. Perquee lehnt es ab, Produktionen zu komprimieren und auf eine dynamische Linie zu bringen. „Um das perfekte Klangerlebnis zu garantieren, muss der dreidimensionale Höreindruck, den das Orchester bei Konzerten in der Philharmonie am Gasteig vermittelt, auch beim Anhören Zuhause herüberkommen.“ 

 

Dem perfekten Beherrschen der Aufnahmetechnik kommt überaus große Bedeutung zu. Der Produzent muss mit dem Widerspruch fertig werden, trotz einer „hundertprozentigen“ Aufnahme die Seele des Orchesters, den typischen Klang live gespielter Instrumente, zu bewahren. Perquee: „Die Leute sind mittlerweile durch die Digitalqualität so verwöhnt, dass sogar ein beim Spielen notwendigerweise entstehendes Geräusch am Cello störend wirken kann. Das ist der beste Beweis, dass die Technik des Samplings die Musik in eine Sackgasse geführt hat.“  Perquee machte sich daher auf die Suche nach den Orginal-Instrumenten und -Verstärkern der historischen Aufnahmen der Stones-Hits, um die Klangbilder der Gitarre auf „Satisfaction“ oder „Jumping Jack Flash“ in der Neuaufnahme zu erhalten. Damit ist es ihm gelungen, den für den Hörer wichtigen markanten Charakter vertrauter Song-Elemente zu erhalten, mit dem Orchesterklang zu kombinieren und eine harmonische Einheit zu erzeugen.

 

„The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra plays ABBA, The BEE GEES, ELVIS, The ROLLING STONES Classic“ – das ist ein Markenzeichen für überragende Klangkunst – created, directed & produced von Patric Perquee.

 

T. A.

Hörproben entsprechen nicht der Originallänge und Originalqualität

® All rights reserved | © Copyright by Giacomo Records