• 01 - S.O.S.  3:21
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 02 - The Winner Takes It All  4:59
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 03 - Dancing Queen  3:51
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 04 - Knowing Me, Knowing You  4:07
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 05 - One Of Us  3:56
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 06 - Chiquitita  5:25
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 07 - Thank You For The Music  3:52
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 08 - Dance (While The Music Still Goes On)   3:31
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 09 - Money, Money, Money  3:06
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 10 - Fernando  4:25
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 11 - Honey, Honey  3:08
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 12 - Hasta Mañana  3:08
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 13 - Waterloo  2:58
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

Add to cart Includes 19% tax

€49,90 – Add to cart Includes 19% tax

 

Dear music lovers,

 

I am glad that you are listening to my production ‘The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra plays ABBA Classic‘. This recording was produced by those involved with much love and enthusiasm. I did not use modern digital techniques to suppress the sounds which necessarily occor when acoustic instruments are used but to guarentee you the sound of the real orchestra as experienced at a live concert.

 

Enjoy yourself.

 

Yours, 

Patric Perquee

 

 

The ’Eurovision Song Contest’ has been staged since 1956 with a trail of winners over the decades. Yet only one group performed the feat of converting this success into a worldwide career. In 1974 Agnetha, Björn, Benny and Anna – ABBA for short – entered the fray for Sweden with the song ‘Waterloo’ and their uplifting, upbeat sound captivated not only the jury, but won over millions across the globe. They went from strength to strength, taking the charts by storm with an unprecedented string of hits: ’Fernando’, ’S.O.S.’, ’Dancing Queen’, ’Knowing Me, Knowing You’, to name just a few. All the songs bore the unmistakeable hallmarks of ’ABBA’ compositions, yet the sound characteristics of the instruments were musically modulated to lend each track an identity of its own.

 

When ’ABBA’ broke up over a decade later, their legacy was a series of evergreens which today not only enjoy popularity among cover artists, but have advanced to classic status in the realms of pop music. In 1991 the Hamburg producer, Patric Perquee, rose to the awesome challenge of recording these songs with a classical orchestra: a unique project calling for the best artists of their genre – the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra. Conducted by Sergiu Celibidache, it has matured into one of the most dynamic and exciting orchestras in the world.

 

The evening before recording, the members of the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Celibidache, played Anton Bruckner’s 7th Symphony in E Major in full evening dress before hundreds of festively dressed, eager music lovers. The next day saw the precious Stradivarius clamped between a stubbled chin and a lumberjack shirt in the studio, where looks take back seat. ’To ensure a perfect sound experience, the only musicians who come into question for me are the best, says Patric Perquee. ’Of course it was great in the eighties to play an active part in forging the meteoric development of computer technology and its influence on music. But if you are always sitting in front of the monitor, there comes a time when it starts to jade.’ The computer soon lost its fascination for Patric Perquee. He wanted to explore new terrain, to widen his horizon. That’s how he became a frontier runner between pop and classical music.

 

From a technical point of view, the recording is capable of guaranteeing the perfect sound experience. So, the three-dimensional sound impression I get from the orchestra in concerts in the Philharmonic Hall at Gasteig must come across when the music is played at home. 

 

Under the producership of Patric Perquee, the artists have transcended the great divide between classical music and light music. Do objective criteria exist for measuring the success of treading this tightrope?

 

’It isn’t your ear which tells you whether the recording has come off. It’s the frisson, the feeling that every note gets deep under your skin and creates vibes there. That’s the point when the erotic effect of music begins to unfold. For Patric Perquee, born in 1954, a successful pop producer for many years, the ultimate gauge for judging his own work is the sensations he experiences.

 

For outsiders it is difficult to comprehend how, in the austere atmosphere of a studio, emotions can be engendered inspiring musicians’ top performance and arousing those listeners’ feelings which spell the success of a music production. Yet this is the very secret of ’ABBA’ melodies, which unleash their magic beyond the constraints of time and place. The first release of the ’ABBA Hits’ played by the Munich Philharmonic Orchestra heralded the revival of the Swedish pop group. Sales soared to record level again, fans hoped that the group would reunite – regrettably in vain.

 

’The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra plays ABBA, The BEE GEES, ELVIS, The ROLLING STONES Classic’ – a trademark for outstanding sound artistry – created, directed & produced by Patric Perquee.

 

T.A.

Audio samples do not correspond to the original length and original quality !

® All rights reserved | © Copyright by Giacomo Records

• 01 - S.O.S.  3:21
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 02 - The Winner Takes It All  4:59
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 03 - Dancing Queen  3:51
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 04 - Knowing Me, Knowing You  4:07
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 05 - One Of Us  3:56
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 06 - Chiquitita  5:25
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 07 - Thank You For The Music  3:52
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 08 - Dance (While The Music Still Goes On)   3:31
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 09 - Money, Money, Money  3:06
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 10 - Fernando  4:25
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 11 - Honey, Honey  3:08
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 12 - Hasta Mañana  3:08
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
  • 13 - Waterloo  2:58
    - Munich Philharmonic Orchestra
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.

In den Warenkorb enthält 19% Mwst

€49,90 – In den Warenkorb enthält 19% Mwst

Liebe Musikfreunde

 

ich freue mich, dass Sie meine neue Produktion „The MUNICH PHILHARMONIC ORCHESTRA – ABBA Classic“ hören.  Diese Musikaufnahme wurde von den Beteiligten mit viel Liebe und Enthusiasmus eingespielt. Ich habe die moderne Digitaltechnik nicht dazu genutzt, die beim Einsatz akustischer Instrumente entstehenden Geräusche zu unterdrücken, sondern um Ihnen einen Orchesterklang zu garantieren, der dem Erlebnis eines Live-Konzertes entspricht.

 

Viel Spass beim anhören.

 

Ihr, 

Patric Perquee

 

Seit 1956 wird der „Grand Prix Eurovison de la Chanson“ veranstaltet. Sieger gab es im Laufe der Jahrzehnte viele, doch nur eine Gruppe schaffte es, diesen Erfolg als Grundstein zu einer weltweiten Karriere zu nutzen. 1974 gingen Agnetha, Björn, Benny und Anna, kurz ABBA, für ihr Heimatland Schweden mit dem Titel „Waterloo“ an den Start und eroberten mit ihrem frischen fröhlichen Sound nicht nur die Herzen der Jury, sondern begeisterten Millionen rund um den Globus. Was folgte, war ein Hit Feuerwerk ohnegleichen: „Fernando“, „S.O.S.“, „Dancing Queen“, „Knowing Me, Knowing You“, das sind nur einige Titel, die „ABBA“ als Dauergast an den Hitparaden-Spitzen etablierte. Das Beeindruckende war, das alle Lieder unverwechselbare „ABBA“ Kompositionen waren, die Klangbilder der eingesetzten Instrumente aber so interessant variiert wurden, dass jedes Lied einen ganz eigenen Sound hatte.

Als „ABBA“ sich nach mehr als einem Jahrzehnt auflösten, hinterließen sie Evergreens, die nicht nur von anderen Künstlern gerne gecovert wurden, sondern deren Melodien heute als Klassiker der Popmusik gelten. Diese Lieder mit einem klassischen Orchester neu aufzunehmen, war eine künstlerische Herausforderung, der sich der Hamburger Produzent Patric Perquee 1991 in eindrucksvoller Manier stellte. Nur die besten Künstler ihres Genres waren gut genug für dieses einzigartige Projekt. Die Münchner Philharmoniker entwickelten sich unter ihrem Dirigenten Sergiu Celibidache zu einem der dynamischsten und besten Orchester der Welt.

Die Münchner Philharmoniker – am Vorabend trugen die Herrschaften Frack und spielten am Gasteig vor hunderten festlich gekleideter, erwartungsfroh gestimmter Musikfreunden unter Leitung von Sergiu Celibidache Anton Bruckners 7. Symphonie in E-Dur. Tags darauf wird im Studio die kostbare “Stradivari” – Geige zwischen Holzfällerhemd und ein unrasiertes Kinn geklemmt. Dort kommt es eben nicht auf die Optik an. “Aber um ein perfektes Hörerlebnis zu gewährleisten, kommen für mich nur die besten Musiker mit ihren Instrumenten in Frage”, sagt Patric Perquee. “Natürlich war das toll, in den Achtzigern die rasante Entwicklung der Computertechnik und ihren Einfluss auf die Musik aktiv mitzugestalten. Aber wenn Du nur noch vor dem Bildschirm sitzt, verblödest Du irgendwann”. Der Computer verlor für Patric Perquee schnell seinen Reiz. Er wollte für sich neues Terrain erschließen, seinen Horizont erweitern. So wurde er zum musikalischen Grenzgänger zwischen Pop und Klassik.

„Der Tonträger ist in der Lage, vom technischen Standpunkt aus betrachtet, das perfekte Klangerlebnis zu garantieren. Also muss der dreidimensionale Höreindruck, den mir das Orchester bei Konzerten in der Philharmonie am Gasteig vermittelt, auch beim Abspielen der Musik, egal an welchem Ort und welcher Form, rüberkommen.“

Unter der Leitung von Patric Perquee wurden gemeinsam die Mauern zwischen E und U Musik eingerissen. Gibt es objektive Kriterien, nach denen man das Gelingen dieser Gratwanderung messen kann?

Nicht das Ohr entscheidet, ob die Aufnahme gelungen ist. Es ist die Gänsehaut; dieses Gefühl, dass Dir jeder Ton ganz tief unter die Haut geht und dort Vibrationen auslöst. Das ist der Punkt, an dem Musik beginnt, erotische Ausstrahlung zu haben.”  Patric Perquee, Jahrgang 1954, seit vielen Jahren erfolgreicher Pop-Produzent, lässt nur sein Gefühl als höchsten Gradmesser für die Beurteilung seiner eigenen Arbeiten zu.

Für Außenstehende ist es nur schwer nachvollziehbar, wie in der nüchternen Atmosphäre eines Studios Emotionen entstehen können, die die Musiker zu Höchstleistungen an den Instrumenten treiben und beim Hörer jene Gefühle auslösen, die zum Erfolg einer Musikproduktion beitragen. Aber gerade darin liegt das Geheimnis der Melodien von „ABBA“, die ihren Zauber an jedem Ort und zu jeder Zeit entfalten. Die Erstveröffentlichung der „ABBA Hits“, gespielt von den Münchner Philharmonikern, läutete das Revival der schwedischen Pop Gruppe ein. Wieder erreichten die Plattenverkäufe Rekordniveau, hofften die Fans – leider umsonst – auf eine Wiedervereinigung der Gruppe.

„The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra plays ABBA, The BEE GEES, ELVIS, The ROLLING STONES Classic“ – das ist ein Markenzeichen für überragende Klangkunst – created, directed & produced von Patric Perquee.

T. A.

Hörproben entsprechen nicht der Originallänge und Originalqualität

® All rights reserved | © Copyright by Giacomo Records